Competition Details

Championship Program


  • Windsor International Aquatic and Training Centre
  • St. Clair College
    Centre for the Arts
Thursday, September 14
8:00 a.m. Opening Ceremonies
9:00 a.m. Sport Development Panel
10:30 a.m. Sport Development Clinics
12:00 p.m. Welcome Lunch
2 – 6:00 p.m. Pool Training
5:00 p.m. Officials Meeting
6:00 p.m. Coaches/Managers Meeting
Friday, September 15
7:00 a.m. Warm-Up
8:00 a.m. Coaches Meeting
8:30 a.m. Officials Meeting
9:00 a.m. Heats

200m Obstacle Swim

4x50m Obstacle Relay

12.5m Line Throw

100m Manikin Tow with Fins
3:00 p.m. Warm-Up
4:15 p.m. Finals
Saturday, September 16
7:00 a.m. Warm-Up
8:00 a.m. Coaches Meeting
8:30 a.m. Officials Meeting
9:00 a.m. Heats

100m Manikin Carry with Fins

50m Manikin Carry

4x25m Manikin Relay

200m Super Lifesaver
2:15 p.m. Awards Ceremony
3:00 p.m. Warm-Up
4:15 p.m. Finals
Sunday, September 17
7:00 a.m. Loch-Up Closes
7:30 a.m. Wet & Dry SERC
10:30 a.m. Warm-Up
11:45 a.m. Heats

100m Rescue Medley

4x50m Medley Relay
2:15 p.m. Awards Ceremony
3:00 p.m. Warm-Up
4:15 p.m. Finals
6:00 p.m. Banquet Doors Open
7:30 p.m. Dinner & Awards
9:00 p.m. Dance Floor Opens

Competition rulebooks

  • The 2023 RLSS Commonwealth Lifesaving Championships will follow the event descriptions, rules and procedures outlined in the 2023 RLSS Competition Handbook.

    RLSS Competition Handbook

  • The 2023 RLSS Competition Handbook refers to the ILS Competition Rule Book.

    ILS Competition Rule Book

Eligibility guidelines

Commonwealth Championships are intended for bona fide lifesavers who have demonstrated a commitment to lifesaving – that is, people who are lifesavers first and competitors second – RLSS considers it unethical to recruit competitors whose lifesaving credentials are tenuous or merely convenient for the purposes of competition.

Individual competitors who enter must be:

  1. a citizen or subject of an eligible Commonwealth nation.

  2. a qualified lifesaver in good standing with a lifesaving organization and hold an RLSS Bronze Medallion award or equivalent.

  3. a minimum of 16 years of age on, or before, December 31, 2023.

  4. registered with their national organization responsible to the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) prior to the first day of the competition (for purposes of out-of-competition testing).

In addition, to be eligible to compete as a member of a Development Team:

  1. an athlete must not now, or ever have been, a member of an Open National Team at any Commonwealth or ILS international sanctioned event. They may have been a member of National Youth Team.

  2. athletes may be selected multiple times to a development team.

All nations recognized by the Commonwealth Games Federation are eligible to enter the Championships. Registration for National or Development teams must be submitted by the nation's RLSS member branch. If your nation does not have a member branch of the RLSS, contact us for information on how to register.

The Championships are open to one National Team and one Development Team per nation – National teams compete against one another, and Development teams compete against one another.

A National or Development team may consist of a minimum of one competitor and a maximum of five female and a maximum of five male competitors (10 in total per team), in addition to any non‐competitive management or coaching personnel. It is not mandatory to have both male and female competitors on a team, but teams may not increase the number of male or female competitors beyond five.

Sanctioning bodies

These championships are sanctioned by: